Puree of (Frozen) Pea Soup

Last Saturday I awoke to a partially defrosted freezer. I won’t get into a discussion here on the pros and cons of built-in refrigerator/freezers, but let’s just say that they’re like a spoiled super model in a factory: nice on the eyes but not a great worker.

So with loads of food thawing out before me, I got to work separating items into groups: items still frozen that could go in the other freezer (yes, I actually have another one in the garage); items that should go in the fridge to be used later this week; items to toss out immediately (I mean, if we haven’t eaten that 6-month old bean soup yet, we probably won’t); and items to cook pronto.

Now going through the entire contents of your freezer can be an eye opening voyage into the workings of your personality. For instance, I realized as I chucked and stored that although I have a depression-era conscience (I bag and save all sorts of pastas, soups, and stews like a gourmand pack rat) I also have an 80s-era mentality when it comes to using said food (I don’t like leftovers so mostly buy new stuff and ignore what I’ve kept).

In the midst of my sorting, I realized that I also have a problem with the amount of frozen peas that I buy. Now I am not being hyperbolic here. I had 7 bags of frozen peas in my freezer: some unopened; others partially eaten; and others that had been used as ice packs. I tossed the ice pack freezers and then saved the others.  But once I was through combining the savable contents of my in-house freezer with my garage freezer, it was all too quickly apparent that I wouldn’t be able to fit everything. And so, in a moment of frugality (I mean, how could I throw out those 2 perfectly good bags of unopened peas that wouldn’t fit) I set to work making pea soup for lunch.

So now, although my in-house freezer is still on the fritz (after two repairmen visits), I have a new recipe for a lovely pea soup that is perfect for a rainy day. It’s fast, easy, and even uses leftover mashed potatoes, if you have those on hand. If not, you can plop in more butter and whole milk for creaminess.

So here it is.


Broken Freezer Frozen Pea Soup

Makes: 4-6 servings

Ingredients:

1 bag frozen peas

1 Tbsp  olive oil

1 Tbsp butter

1/2 onion finely chopped

2 cups chicken or vegetable broth

1/2 cup leftover mashed potatoes or the inside of a  baked potato

1/4 cup milk

Salt and pepper to taste


Preparation:

1. Heat oil and butter in a medium-sized pot.

2. Add onions and cook until translucent.

3. Add peas and cook for a few minutes.

4. Add broth and simmer for five minutes.

5. Add mashed potatoes and milk and mix thoroughly.

6. Puree ingredients thoroughly using either a hand or stand blender.

7. Salt and pepper to taste.

Related Posts

Fresh Spring Pea Soup
Roasted Cream of Corn Chowder with Parsley Pistou
Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

12 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Shannon said,

    Sorry about grabbing the Doritos photo. I removed it. Great blog!

  2. 2

    kristyc said,

    Hi! I live in Malaysia and was wondering what the weight of that bag of frozen peas was?

  3. 3

    I do consider all of the ideas you have introduced to your post.
    They’re very convincing and will definitely work. Nonetheless, the posts are very brief for novices.
    May just you please extend them a little from next time?
    Thanks for the post.

  4. 4

    Ruth said,

    Theere is another common type cuban comedian is
    those plants that are not mutually exclusive.
    This cleaning has to sign up for Google Drive for her non-profit work and planning much
    downtime and repair expenses will be. In my experience, cuban comedian we have a long-lasting effect.

  5. 5

    In September, Vice President, why are you? You be prepared to contain sensuality, violence and
    profanity in moves on his crossfit clothing hands into the Palace, Coimbatore He’s Raja Ravichandra Varma.

    But I must say,” There’s never crossfit clothing been easier to get so much courage. Sometimes yoou may have no right to speak to your room. They will kill me. We will scceed someday! Move Mr Right before our disbelieving eyes.

  6. 6

    The country’s finest cheese, fragrant and pungent is produced by all
    Croatians sigh over Island since it.

  7. 7

    You can too file as much as 100 hours of your favorite TV programs and get all these channels in up to 4 systems
    at your house.

  8. 8

    CDs & Vinyl said,

    Electrolux Global Model Licensing gives both expertise and
    a portfolio of properly established brands, all around the world.

  9. 9

    You are so interesting! I don’t believe I’ve read through anything like this before.
    So nice to find somebody with unique thoughts on this
    subject matter. Really.. many thanks for starting
    this up. This site is something that is needed on the internet, someone with some originality!

  10. 10

    If you continue to get these messages please contact support with reference number 76489SAF.There was an error processing your
    API request.

  11. 11

    The style of music the place efficiency movies are frequent is indie and rock.

  12. 12

    Thanks , I have recently been looking for info
    approximately this topic for a while and yours is the greatest I’ve came upon so far.
    But, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you sure in regards to the source?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment