Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

Sorry for the long delay in posts. It seems like someone in my house (including me) has had he flu for the past two weeks. I’ve only started to really cook again in the last few days, but when I did I knew I had to use a forlorn butternut squash that had been sitting on my counter for a couple of months. So, with only a half appetite and a whole squash, I decided to make soup. Unlike other butternut squash soups that I’ve made in the past, I first roasted the squash in the oven with some olive oil and sea salt. I also incorporated some spring onions as I just bought some at the farmer’s market and they looked so beautiful I couldn’t resist. Here’s the recipe. I hope you like it. The soup was creamy and the Gruyère cheese really accented the sweetness of the squash.  With a hunk of delicious bread, this soup made me excited to eat again.

Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

1 whole butternut squash

2 Tbsp olive oil

3 cups chicken or vegetable broth

1/2 cup whole milk

Gruyère cheese (grated)

Salt to taste

Pepper to taste

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Peel the squash and cut it into 1/4 inch slices (tossing out the seeds)
  3. Lay squash on an oiled pan. Top slices with a drizzle of olive oil and sprinkle on some sea salt.
  4. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until the squash is roasted, but not browned.
  5. Add remaining Tbsp olive oil to a stock pot.
  6. Saute white part of onion for a minute, or until softened
  7. Cube the butternut squash and add it to the pot
  8. Stir and add broth
  9. Bring to a boil, cover, and then simmer for about 20 minutes
  10. Blend soup in a food processor or blender until smooth
  11. Add milk and stir
  12. Add green part of onion
  13. Serve in individual bowls, topping each with a sprinkle of Gruyère cheese
3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    […] Roasted Butternut Squash Soup Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Fresh Spring Pea SoupMaine Food and Lifestyle Column – Fresh Pea SoupSplit Pea Soup […]

  2. 2

    Sounds delicious! Great idea to garnish with gruyère. Here is a recipe for a couscous that contains roasted butternut squash, zucchini, and carrots. http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/07/moroccan-couscous/

  3. 3

    I got all the fancy stuff to do my nails and changing the colours a few times a week plus the fact
    my nails grow longer! One down side is there
    are only about 25 colours, which sounds a lot but compared to conventional nail polish this was minimal.

    shellac nails – shellac nails are just the bomb.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

