Green Goddess Salad Dressing

Today’s New York Times Sunday Magazine highlighted a Green Goddess salad dressing recipe from 1948. After looking at the picture of crisp romaine lettuce topped with creamy goodness, I knew I had to make it. The only problem is that it includes anchovies. Although I love those salty little fish, my husband has designated anchovies enemy number one in our pantry. I find this unfair. Anchovies are delicious, good for you, and one of the only available fish in plentiful supply (and not on any seafood watch lists). With this in mind, I thought I’d try something a bit sneaky: I decided to blend the ingredients so my husband couldn’t detect the anchovies inside. And, because I thought it would be fun for the ‘Green Goddess’ dressing to actually be green, I added spinach leaves to the puree. I also tossed some homemade croutons into the salad, which added a welcome crunchiness and soaked up the flavor of the dressing nicely.

The dressing itself was rich in flavor and body, and both my husband and I loved it. If you’re an anchovy hater, you should note that the taste of the fish wasn’t particularly noticeable in the final product, although it did have a nice salty flavor reminiscent of a Caesar dressing.

Feeling a bit guilty about my little ruse, I waited until we were halfway through dinner to spring the hidden ingredient on my husband. By this time, he had devoured most of his salad and was eying the remnants of what I had left on my plate.

“So, there’s anchovies in this dressing,” I mentioned nonchalantly.

“No!” he said, staring down at his plate.

“Yup.” I said, taking a small sip of wine, and then left it at that. I then handed over my plate and let him finish the few leaves I had left.

Here’s the recipe. I highly suggest purreeing the ingredients instead of whisking them (as the recipe suggests) as it gives you a nice creamy dressing. Blending everything together is also the easiest way to sneak those anchovies past unsuspecting spouses.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Rella said,

    I have been searching for the recipe for Green Goddess dressing. Please email me.

    Thanks

  2. 2

    Rella said,

    Sorry, I should read a little closer, thanks

  3. 3

    dslincoln said,

    No problem. I hope you like it as much as I do!

  4. 4

    […] fish can bre great in sandwhiches, and the smaller the fish the better! Try anchovies in your salad dressings. Chopped tomatoes are great for homeade salsa, or to throw into a curry with some canned lite […]


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

