Tomato, Cauliflower and White Bean Stew with Basil

Okay, I readily admit it. I’m a cauliflower fanatic. But why shouldn’t I be? It’s a vegetable readily available throughout most of the year, is delicious and easy to cook, and is full of cancer-fighting antioxidants. It’s also incredibly versatile. Last week seemed a great time to experiment with how to cook it. All throughout July we’ve been partaking of far too many hamburgers, flank steaks, grilled chicken and fish, and sausages. Feeling a bit overloaded with meat, I wanted to make a nice vegetarian meal one night, and, what did I find in my fridge? Cauliflower, of course! Here’s the recipe I threw together. You can make it either on the stovetop or roasted. If you’d like to do the latter, just put all the ingredients in the pan, mix, and roast on 400 degrees for about 15-20 minutes. Served over pasta or with a baguette, this is a great and satisfying dinner that is low in fat and very high in fiber, vitamins and taste.

Tomato, Cauliflower and White Bean Stew with Basil

Serves 2-4

Ingredients

1 small head of cauliflower

2 cloves garlic

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 tsp fresh oregano or 1 Tbsp dried

1 can white canelini beans drained (or 2 cups home-cooked white beans)

1 can stewed or diced tomatoes

1 small bunch of basil chopped

Parmesan cheese


Instructions

1. Wash and chop up cauliflower into 1-inch florets.

2. Heat oil in a large pan and add garlic.

3. Add cauliflower and saute for a few minutes. Add oregano along with salt and pepper to taste.

4. Add canned tomatoes and beans, stir, and then cover for about 3-5 minutes.

5. Add more salt and pepper to taste.

6. When cauliflower is al dente, add basil and serve with Parmesan cheese either over pasta or with bread.

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    OMG enjoyed reading your article. I added your rss to my google reader.

  2. 2

    Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site with us so I came to check it out.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and
    will be tweeting this to my followers! Wonderful blog and great
    style and design.

  3. 3

    Sweet blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Appreciate it

  4. 4

    Orlando said,

    Hi there this is kind of of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to
    manually code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

