Fruity Coffee Cake

coffee-cake.jpg

My kids are out of school this week, so today we are spending the day watching movies and snacking while it rains outside. I told my daughters that I would bake them a treat to celebrate our “vacation” status. My daughter Sophie requested a blueberry cake, so I mustered up enough energy to lift myself from the couch to make my coffee cake. The recipe calls for 2 cups of fruit and blueberries are a great choice.

This recipe is an amalgamation of about ten different coffee cake recipes I’ve tried in the past. After making many different recipes, I just started to use the ingredients that I liked best, such as sour cream which lends a nice flavor to the cake. I often top the cake with some brown sugar and cinnamon, but didn’t want to distract from the cake and fruit flavors today, so left those out. The one thing I can always count on with this recipe is that it has a nice texture and subtle flavor that work well with the fruit. It also isn’t too fattening as I use vegetable oil instead of butter. Best of all it’s ridiculously easy to make.

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

3/4 cup sour cream

1/2 cup oil

1 tablespoon lemon or orange zest

1 cup blueberries, raspberries, chopped apples, or chopped pears (frozen berries are fine)

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl. Mix sugar and eggs in a large bowl until fully incorporated. Add oil and mix thoroughly. Stir in sour cream and citrus zest. Fold dry ingredients into the egg mixture, being sure not to overmix (which result in a rubbery cake). Fold in fruit.

Place batter in an pan that has been oiled. The pan can either be a bundt pan, a 9 x 9 pan, or a tart pan. Top with a 1/2 cup of brown sugar mixed with a little cinnamon if you want a crunchy topping. Leave this off if you don’t.

Bake for 40 minutes. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

